menu search
It is all about football and an african player who got the ballon d' or in the first time.
thumb_up_off_alt 4 like thumb_down_off_alt 0 dislike

1 Answer


To date, the only African player to ever win the Ballon d’Or, George Weah clinched the award in 1995—the first year that the prize was opened to non-European players. In that year, he defeated Jurgen Klinsmann—in second place—by 144 votes to 108, and would also pick up 13 votes the year afterwards.

Subsequently, Who is Africa greatest player? With that in mind, Mirror Football ranks the best 10 African footballers of all time – excluding those who are still making their legacy.

  • 9) Nwankwo Kanu
  • 8) Jay-Jay Okocha
  • 6) Abedi Ayew ‘Pele’
  • 5) Essam El-Hadary
  • 4) Didier Drogba
  • 3) Samuel Eto’o
  • 2) Roger Milla.
  • 1) George Weah.

Who will win the Ballon d’Or 2021? Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain forward Lionel Messi won the 2021 Ballon d’Or, his record-extending seventh Player of the Year award in his career (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019). He beat out Bayern Munich and Poland forward Robert Lewandowski, who was the other top contender for this year’s honor.

Considering this Who won the 1995 Ballon d Or? The 1995 Ballon d’Or, given to the best football player in Europe as judged by a panel of sports journalists from UEFA member countries, was awarded to George Weah on 24 December 1995. It was the first edition of this award where players born outside Europe were allowed to receive votes.

thumb_up_off_alt 1 like thumb_down_off_alt 0 dislike
eForumAfrica, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community. Find the answer to your question, help others by answering their questions.