menu search
How many permanent members are there on the UN security council?
thumb_up_off_alt 1 like thumb_down_off_alt 0 dislike

2 Answers

5 permanent members

According to the UN Charter, Article 23, "The Security Council shall consist of fifteen Members of the United Nations". The Security Council has 15 members: 5 permanent members with veto power: China
thumb_up_off_alt 0 like thumb_down_off_alt 0 dislike

The Council is composed of 15 Members:

Five permanent members: China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly (with end of term year)

Albania (2023)

Brazil (2023)

Gabon (2023)

Ghana (2023)

India (2022)

Ireland (2022)

Kenya (2022)

Mexico (2022)

Norway (2022)

United Arab Emirates (2023)

Non-Council Member States

More than 50 United Nations Member States have never been Members of the Security Council.

A State which is a Member of the United Nations but not of the Security Council may participate, without a vote, in its discussions when the Council considers that country's interests are affected. Both Members and non-members of the United Nations, if they are parties to a dispute being considered by the Council, may be invited to take part, without a vote, in the Council's discussions; the Council sets the conditions for participation by a non-member State
thumb_up_off_alt 0 like thumb_down_off_alt 0 dislike
eForumAfrica, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community. Find the answer to your question, help others by answering their questions.